top of page

THIS STORY

True Blue Peranakan Cuisine @Armenian Street

Peranakan food or as I like to call it nyonya food is truly an all time favorite. Super intense mix of spiciness, sweet, Sour. Lots of gravy that always make me get two servings of rice. And the fact that this cuisine is pretty much a marriage of different cultures in Malaysia and Singapore just makes the dining experience extra special, like I'm embracing a beautiful part of my nation's identity.

Honestly these are like my all time favorites that can't go wrong. Fell in love with the spicy wingbean. So crunchy, salty and spicy.

Ayam Buah Keluak

This seems to be like the go - to dish in SG. I feel like MY nyonya restaurants typically have ayam pongteh as the signature. Anyways I think the charm of this dish is the subtle smokey flavor in the gravy which I think came from the Buah Keluak.

They even provided a small spoon to scoop out the contents of the nut. Such a rice thief.


Rendang is on the sweet side, I prefer spicier ones. The kueh pie tee was really good, super crunchy and juicy vege. And i like how they let us make our own kueh pie tee.


Mango and pomelo and Cendol for desserts.


Complimentary sweets


And seriously the best part is still the ambience. It felt like walking into a Peranakan home, full of elegant wooden furniture. Maybe I can imagine I'm a decent daughter from a respectable peranakan family with a beautiful ancestral home.


What a great night to indulge in all the good food with these ladies.


bottom of page