top of page

THIS STORY

Explore Bishan - Novena: Crispy Prata House & Wheeler's Yard

Decided to do some exploring along red line. Started the day with breakfast at Crispy Prata House at Thomson. It's my second time here and sadly the Prata is still not the type that I like. Its just crispy, like the Korean pancake. I like my Prata crispy, buttery and flaky.


But my Maggie goreng with mutton was pretty good. At least it's not the crazy red noodles. Mutton was tender. Huge portion! But think it lacks the Maggie msg taste. Omg am I becoming uncle Roger.


Fish Britain for my friend. The rice was extra fluffeh. Very hearty.


From Thomson, we walked around Bishan neighbourhoods to kill some calories after the heavy breakfast.


We walked to Bishan Park, passing by all the lush greens and peaceful streams of river. Passed by many doggies.


Mirror like pond


Some lalang




Love this photo, kinda like your HDB backyard garden.


Checked out my friend's neighborhood, the local markets the schools, the mix of old estates and new condos. It's just super lively.


From Bishan, we took a bus to Toa Payoh and crossed the Kallang River to reach Sun Yat Sen Memorial.


It's a beautiful colonial house which hosted Dr. Sun Yat Sen during his visit to Singapore. Over here you get to learn about Dr. Sun Yat Sen's story as well as the history of Chinese revolution. It's amazing how the revolution was such an international movement that has support from Chinese figures in many countries. It was a time where being a Chinese descent means you are a part of an international community.



Love visiting museums especially those relating to 20th century because it never fails to amaze me that not long ago, the world was such a different place and there was so much that has to happen before we have our peace times now. Can't help but to think I'm a very lucky girl to be born in this era.



Pretty balcony at the front of the house, and it was CNY, hence all the bright reds.


Probably a homage to Dr. Sun as well, Zhongshan Park is just across. It's more like a small urban park for people to chill and hangout. See the ancient Chinese inspired buildings that houses many restaurants and retailers.


Love the mix of modern and traditional here.



From Zhongshan Park, we moved on to our last stop for coffee break at Wheeler's Yard located in a industrial/garage building.


Glad to check out the sister outlet of wheeler's estate which I visited at Seletar. Wheeler's yard's concept was cool too, high ceilings, brick walls, industrial vibes. Like I'm hanging out at a secret factory.







There's many large tables, like what you will have in a workshop.


My latte ($5.50) which I have zero idea of what latte art it is. Looks like a face right. Or is it just intestines.


I was hungry so I got a Chili Crab Pasta ($18.90), my go-to Cafe food hehe. It was pretty good, nice spicy kick but a more watery gravy.


Yuzu Osmanthus Cake $7.00



Sea salt caramel cake $7.00

Added this after my pasta coz I just need dessert! This was delicious, love the delicious flavor of caramel but it wasnt too sweet thanks to the salt. This cake is an anytime cake.


Don't think I will purposely travel to Novena to come here again but I do like the food selection here and the ambience. It's quite amazing that the place actually felt not as noisy and quite chilled despite it was all packed. Probably because of the high ceilings and floor length windows.


Then of course I had to take a photo here.

Kind of remind me of JWC coffee in Mt Austin. Gahhh I needs go homeeee. But on wells, exploring new SG neighbourhoods will do for now!


bottom of page