top of page

THIS STORY

Food at Paya Lebar MRT


I usually hate visiting the east but hey Paya Lebar has become my relatively accessible hood at the east and I'm in love with the urban yet casual vibes and how there's so much food concentrated within this area.

Singpost Centre, Singapore's Central Post Office also doubles as a mall? Gotta love how they are making it a convenient place.


One of my favorite places in Paya Lebar, the square directly in front of Paya Lebar Quarter which is surrounded by food stores, some greeneries, bright display panel, benches and tables to hang out and of course a sight of the moving mrt train. The space is really pretty huge so it doesn't feel too crowded but you will love the constant energy that is flowing through the space.


1. Morphine Coffee

That's my sesame latte from The Morphine Coffee, one of the coffee stands at the open space. Sounds interesting right? But sadly the sesame was overpowering and wah I choked at my first sip coz of the sesame grains (yes it's not powdered sesame). But oh wells, it's a great location for just people watching haha. I'll probably give it another try.


2. Jimmy Monkey

If you want coffee at a more quiet and laid back area, Jimmy Monkey is the place to go! The cafe is situated at a quiet corner of the residential area of PLQ. Surrounded by some greeneries. I like how we had this huge table that almost felt like hanging out at someone's backyard. My latte was delicious, smooth and robust. Perfect for Sundays.



3. Feng Sheng Hao

PLQ is full of exciting food! So many restaurants and I found Feng Sheng Hao 豐盛號 which came from Taiwan! You know how I miss Taiwanese food especially the breakfast. I just had to try. To be honest I feel the bread doesn't have a very buttery char, but the bread itself is pretty soft and yummy. Love the sandwich fillings, I had pork floss with condensed milk ($7.80) and spicy pork and Egg cheese ($7.60). I'd say it's definitely an upgraded version of your usual sandwich but I'm not sure if it's worth the price. Also got a milk tea ($4.70) which taste exactly like what I had in Taiwan! So good but again, overpriced :( oh wells given that we can't travel, this toast place is probably your alternative to Taiwan feels.


4. Nuodle

HongShao Shabu Shabu Beef LaMian noodles ($12.90) from Nuodle at singpost centre! This was so goood. Crazy rich broth with all the goodness of aromatics and slightly spicy. Beef slices are super thin and tender with enough fats. The noodles were springy and absorbs just the right amount of broth. Such a comforting meal.

Didn't know why I took a photo here but I guess I'm just loving the wide spaces

bottom of page