top of page

THIS STORY

2K18

Sorry for the lack of updates but I guess I should at least try my best to do a recap post for all the memorable things in life and it's actually my first full year into work-life, and there's stepping into quarter-life as well. Can't say the year was good but I guess I did grow up further or I should say, aged. In a world full of conflict, I guess that's how I figured out what and who is important to me and learning to let go of other things that are just not worth my precious time to dread over. This is me trying to thank God for all the ordinary and beautiful things that happened in my life, I may not remember these after 5 years, but the joy from all these are gonna be the fuel to keep fighting for life. Let's go according to chronological order.

January:

Definitely the most memorable thing was attending a dear friend's wedding in Phuket. Not only it is my first time attending a friend's wedding, it was such a beautiful one and I had fun traveling in Phuket with my fellow high school friends. So glad to be part of this important event. Then there's also Prodential's Carnival at Marina Bay which I had the privilege to visit thanks to dear housemate's family day tickets. So blessed for all these special experiences.

One-day family member of this sweet lady

Food, Fun, Friends

February

As usual haha, February is a busy month, not only there's CNY to meet up with the rest of the family, there's birthdays of important ladies in my life.

February babies birthday celebration at JB

Chinese New Year @ Dad's Hometown!

In front of the Choong family photo studio.

Birthday celebration for dear housemate Shiyiennn!

And that's my first water park experience in SG at Wild wild wet. See how tan i've become in just one day.

March

Birthday celebration for one kind soul that I've met since uni days! Then there's my first ever Disney on Ice concert. It was a dream come true for me honestly, I remember how I would bug my parents to bring me to this show every single year and until this day I still long for this and it feels so good that I'm realizing this dream myself.

Happy Birthday Yeucian

Fellow princesses

April

It's 10 months into work life and we had a short getaway, oh i mean RUNAWAY for a relaxing trip. Really love how we just nua at the Villa and leave everything else behind. Then there's awesome seafood as well!

Also visited the granma in the same month and we went to get our favorite HAKKA food at a small town of Kelapa Sawit.

May

Hosted by dear friend from KL for a tour around Sentosa. Also hosted a seaside BBQ party at Pasir Ris! Far it is, but kind of love the peaceful sunset vibes over there. Just need to take a break from all the skyscrapers. Thanks again for all the fwens who made this happen!!

June

EGGXITEDDDDD, It's time to take my motivational pill from my favorite band. Yes many people don't understand how can I watch the same thing for the second time within 6 months but really, if you find that connection with that music, this 3 hours of performance is as good as a motivational workshop. You know I seldom say that music speaks to me but for this band, yes miraculously it does and in fact it touches our hearts deeper. Oh well although I don't know how much my life has changed after listening to them but I know their music has always kept me happy and grateful.

Also within the same month, tried some pretty cool activities I never thought I will take part in. First is a Latte Workshop at the beautiful Chye Seng Huat coffee. If you know me you'd realise I've been making my own espresso based coffee everyday at work! Fancy but making your own latte is pretty therapeutic haha. Then there's the super therapeutic art jam session at Arteastiq, making my very own masterpiece, knowing that I have the power to create what I want to see. Sense of achievement is pretty hard to reach nowadays LOL.

Oh another first for me! Finally took part in a legit Youtube music video. Though I'm just like this small character but it's so fun to be putting the video pieces together. And most of all, miss NTU so so much and working with the juniors really reminded me of our crazy days where passion just fuels every insane thing we do haha.

人生要火一场五月天 - one is definitely not enough and the amount of people at the concert certainly says so.

Latte Workshop by Papa Palheta, loving the color scheme of the entire workshop

Me love elephants and sunset

Honestly seems like ebibody are awesome artists!

So proud to be part of this, MSA has always been my home away from home.

July

Another month with birthdays to celebrate! First is dear housemate's celebration where we escaped to the far north east. Punggol Settlement turns out to be quite a nice place to unwind and catch the beautiful sunset, followed by a delicious seafood dinner.

August

Finally me stepping on to the shopper's paradise. I've heard so many good reviews for Bangkok and was so excited to finally visit. Gotta say I'm quite grateful to go with the colleagues, so much fun with this bunch! Hope I have time to do a full story of our trip.

September

Very special month, for the first time I'm part of the witness team of a proposal LOL. Kinda weird coz part of me was thinking who am I to be part of this special moment haha. But truly happy when I saw how happy she was. Congratulations Huan and Kim, please stay sweet!

Also there's the annual gathering for this little princess. Gotta say this annual meetup is really like seeing her grow up, she was still all quiet and paiseh but this year she's all sassy and chatty.

Another first for me! First Musical and I decided to give it to the Lion King. Worth it coz the music and set was very much alive. Disney will always be that inspiring light in my heart.

October

Another another first! First flight with family! Yes you'd be surprised, took us so many years to even reach this milestone. I'm that bad kid who always complaint that my parents never 带我坐飞机 but now it kind of feels good to achieve this together. Not an overseas trip but I'm hopeful that we'll get to achieve that soon! Blessed by the beautiful weather, KK was truly a beautiful city to visit. Honestly I can imagine one week over there. Hope I can work on this post too!

See that Mount KK right behind us?

Love this city surrounded by beaches and islands.

November

It's my birthday! Grateful for all the well wished from friends and family. Also a month for celebrations as I got to know like a bunch of scorpios at work haha. Also, attended a very dear friend's wedding in Malaysia.

But November was quite a struggling month for me, not only I was diving into the peak season, unexpected events where I am totally helpless happened.

Blessed by all the love!

Beautiful wedding of my UTAR coursemate.

December

Last month of the year! Just enjoying it with meetups with awesome people.

CP united again.

Attended a candlelight service at City Harvest Church Another first for me, first church service in Singapore LOL.

Gotta pin this up, this was the last day of work in 2019. So excited that I went into holiday jolly siao mood!

Meaningful meetup with the high school buddies at an animal shelter. Felt very very sad for the abandoned dogs, I hope they all find owners soon!

Looking back, can't say I achieved a lot but I guess there were many memorable moments and I am grateful for those already. Also this year, one of my greatest fears actually happened but God has always blessed me with hope. I am very sure it's a sign from Him, to make us grow stronger and more hopeful as a family and as an individual. One thing I learnt is, as sad as it is, as we step into this real world, we only realize there's a lot of things that we want, but just can't do. We had to make choices that would hurt us in some way. As time goes by, it kind of feels like there's nothing that can be done, can be achieved, can be changed and we would stop dreaming. But at the end of this, I guess I learnt to just do my best and focus on what I care most. To be honest, I think that sense of helplessness would only grow stronger this year, but I guess we all will find a way to make ourselves feel alive.

At the end, just remember we will be dead and there's no take two. Be happy and do your best.

bottom of page