top of page

THIS STORY

Solomen @SS2 (Japanese Casual Cafe)

Sometimes its hard to find a hipster place that can please my parents. Most of the time hipster cafes focus too much on coffee, desserts and serve only mediocre food. Old people like Uncle and Aunty Choong would be complaining about ang moh food before even going to the cafe. But turns out this place won my parents' hearts.

Usually cafes that claim to be Japanese cafes serve like pretty so-so food like Curry Katsu Don, Teriyaki Don and Gyozas. They can never taste bad but it's not something to wow you. But I gotta say the food here is good, like the I-will-still-come-back kind of good.

Solomen

16, Jalan SS 2/24, SS 2, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Lets start with the drinks, like I said, it has the usual hipster cafe kind of beverage selection. Legit Italian Coffee and beautiful latte art.

Iced Cappuccino - RM 9.40

Mocha - RM10.30

Side dishes of Gyoza - RM 11.30 and Hoikoro - RM 16.00.

The Gyoza was okay, but what impressed me was this WOK-HEY packed Hoikoro which is essentially stir-fried veggies with pork belly slices. The veggies are at the perfect crunch. It's great with a bowl of rice.

Chashumen - RM 16.90

Comfort food kind of ramen with plenty of toppings and warm rich pork broth. I like how the soup is filled to the brim.

Salmon Teriyaki - RM 27.20

This was really good despite being a very small cut of salmon. The sauce was nicely seasoned while the salmon still retains its fragrant oils. Anoyher great dish to go with rice.

Finally, I want to recommend something that I did not take photo of. It's the Katsu Don - RM 21.70 with crunchy pork cutlets, delicious moist rice and fragrant runny eggs soaked in a sweet sauce.

I also want to say that this cafe has a special place in my heart because I've been visiting the cafe almost every day to get my meals during a rather difficult period of time. Where my family and I were pretty much feeling exhausted and depressed most of the time. The food here really gave us like a taste-of-life and truly was comfort food to warm the soul. Know it sounds exaggerating but when you are feeling down, sometimes all it takes is something tasty to remind you that you are still feeling something in this world. The cafe owner was very kind as well, i remember my mom had a very nice chat with her. My mom told me that they have been getting food from this cafe very often ever since.

Tags:

bottom of page