top of page

THIS STORY

卡门深夜食堂 之 Nasi Lemak

Pen this down coz this was one of the most tiring cooking session but it's still so fulfilling coz now I know how much hard work it takes to make my favorite dish - the mighty Nasi Lemak. 

Thought it will be quite easy but damn there's so many steps. Initially I wanted to make the rendang from scratch but decided to cheat when I was having a hard time finding the ingredients. But it was pretty fun visiting the market asking the aunty for all the different stuffs. 

Shopping was funnnnn. This, is what you need for delicious rendang and sambal ikan bills. Look at all this glorious spices and seasonings. The aunty told me that the kerisik (fried coconut paste) is a must add. Belacan smells awful but it really gives the sambal flavor.

Cooking rendang takes time and care. Have to cut the meat into cubes, first stir fry the spices followed by simmering it with low heat, checking to make sure the water doesn't run out. 

On the other hand, had to peel the garlic and onions, slice them, dice them, deseed the dry chilies (omg I almost died), deep fry anchovies, then blend the spices tgt. So much chopping haha. Bur wished we had a food processor instead. Blenders can't give the paste effect of sambal. 

After what almost felt like a war, so happy to see this. 

Oh shout out to my housemate Shiyien who helped with the perfect coconut rice! 

To be fair, I tot it taste quite good. The rice wan so goood. Fluffy and fragrant. 

The sambal was abit too salty coz I put too much belacan. But still has the mild spicy taste. 

Rendang is good, especially the chicken one with the rich gravy. 

Just wanna say, cooking what you wanna eat is really a bliss although it may be economically inefficient haha.  If there's anything you wanna achieve or complete, go find the recipe and the tools you need. Hope you can savor what you worked hard for!! 

On a side note, thanks to my beloved housemates and friends who came to support my nasi lemak. Thanks for being part of this achievement of mine hehe. 

bottom of page