top of page

THIS STORY

Superheroes for the week, Thor: Ragnarok & Justice League

Just some quick thoughts on the two superhero films that hit the cinemas last month.

Thor: Ragnarok

Gotta say this is very very different from the first two films. You know how Marvel shows always has some share of humour, but Thor:Ragnarok is trying to be very funny. And yes it did work, I laughed a lot, though I'm not exactly sure if I liked it. But I gotta say I like the colours of the movie! Like the first two films were very dark and gloomy, but Ragnorok is so colorful, bright and bold. Looks very much like a comic book roaring to life. Definitely a pleasure to watch. And I guess bringing Hulk into the picture adds more flavor to the film and it kinda shows you more about the green beast. Another beast that really caught my attention was Korg. It has to be the cutest rock on earth haha and I just found out the voice of Korg was the director of the film itself. LIke WHATTT!?!? Talented Korg haha. In terms of the storyline, well I guess there wasn't much relations to the previous films but I like how the plot involves so many more characters and of course, Loki, in a good way.

Justice League

The long awaited DC version of Avengers is here! Following the events of Batman v Superman, Justice League kind of shows the aftermath of Superman's death. In terms of the storyline, it's pretty predictable and the villains just suddenly come out of no where and decided to burn the world. Forgive me but I have to compare this to Avengers, I do think the Marvel films does a better characterization of the villains. Nevertheless, I think the film does feel very similar to Avengers, a group of superheroes coming together to fight mega villains and save the earth. But but but, the heroes in the DC lineup are very different from the Avengers bunch although one might find similarities in the line up. Okay I shall not elaborate more on this point but you just need to know one thing. FLASH IS THE BOMBBBBZZZZ! Falling so hard for this character haha and honestly he is the missing gem in Avengers although one might argue Spiderman is kind of similar. But no, Barry Allen is one of a kind!

Anyways, both films are still worth watching in the theaters, the action, the visuals, the humor will give you an enjoyable 2 hours. I suppose this is exactly why film companies keep rolling out superhero films because watching them in cinemas really is entertaining.

Tags:

bottom of page