top of page

THIS STORY

Heritage Afternoon Tea at The Clifford Pier

Hey guys, after much thought, I have decided to try out the WIX platform. Honestly, it kills me to give up on Blogger which I have used for more than 10 years and has some of my best posts out there. Apparently one of my popular post ended up high on the search engine and my cousins (who are in the post) had friends telling them they found them on Google. But the WIX website is really pretty and I like how user-friendly it is to design my blog. I'm not like one of those artistic people who has genuine creativity so the templates from WIX was a good guide while you can pretty much customize anything within the template to make it your own. I am very in love with my page now haha. Let me know what you think!

Anyways, gonna try writing my first post here and I've decided to share some of my fun experience in Singapore which I didn't had the time to share due to my busy final semester.

So this has always been my to-do list ever since I came to Singapore but I was intimidated by the price T T Sue me but I'm a lady who enjoys tai-tai time with scones and English tea at some pretty tea house or lounge, though I tend to find the atas service kind of intimidating. Anyway, given the high price, I told myself I shall wait till I start earning to splurge for this, but thanks to a dear dear friend from overseas, she gave me the excuse to break the rule haha. I was thinking of some interesting experiences to recommend to my dear friend Hyejin from South Korea and thought she should definitely try having a nice English tea since we're in a British colonized country. What better place to do it than the Clifford Pier which is indeed a heritage of the British colonization era.

Gotta say I have no regrets for splurging, in fact the price was reasonable once you experienced it. So the Afternoon Heritage Tea is priced at S$45++ per pax. Not only you get to enjoy your tea in a beautifully restored colonial era building, the high-tea comes with refillable sweets which includes scones, cakes and macarons, and there's also a buffet line of savory delights such as Deep Fried Mantou with Chili Crab Sauce, Pork Buns, Rendang Fried Rice and more.... You will be STUFFED. In a nutshell, it's great ambience, delicious food and top-notch service in one, Especially with the right people, everything was so memorable and 50 bucks was worth it.

Pretty ladies of the day, FYP mate Winnie and exchange student Hyejin. It's actually our farewell lunch/afternoon-tea with Hyejin who was about to return to South Korea after one semester of exchange program in NTU. It has been so much fun with her, thanks for sharing so many interesting facts about S.Korea, spending our day out at Marina Barrage and helping me edit my Korean presentation script haha.

Hyejin thinking hard on her choice of tea haha. (Credits to Winnie)

Me can't stop taking photos with my phone haha

When the 3-tier rack came in I was like screaming on the inside. OMG Looks so prettyyyyyy and screaming more when the waitress said it's refillable! Unlike your usual English Afternoon Tea, the sweets served features a twist of Singapore's flavor. Pandan swiss roll, coconut cake, bandung macarons. Even the scone comes with kaya and butter.

sorry I cannot get over how pretty that block of butter looks.

At the buffet station, I can't stop digging into the crispy deep fried mantou with Chili Crab sauce, where you truly have crab meat inside the sauce. Spicy, sweet and savory, love this signature Singaporean flavor.

The crisp sambal shrimps and rendang fried rice that satisfied my craving for the Malay flavors.

Besides from the great food, what lifted my mood up was definitely the ambience and service. The spacious hall with beautiful chandeliers while having lots of natural light, the seats are comfortable and not too crowded, every table kinda have their private space. The waiters are incredibly helpful and polite and it's not in the intimidating way.

More importantly, had a great time with the girls. What a great way to farewell our guest.

Even the exterior looks gorgeous. You will be looking right at the beautiful Marina Bay. Girls, if you can spare a few red color notes, do pamper yourself once in a while at this beautiful lounge, sharing laughter and chats with your friends over tea.

On a side note, hope I will be visiting again with same people!! :)

The Clifford Pier

by The Fullerton Bay Hotel

80 Collyer Quay,

Singapore 049326

Nearest MRT: Raffles Place

Call +65 6877-8911 to make a reservation.

bottom of page