top of page

THIS STORY

Bangkok - Been there done that 22 things

I know this is super super long overdue. But nope I'm not gonna let the photos I took go to waste. They deserve a spot on my space here.

So back in Aug 2018, finally made my first step into Bangkok, heaven for shopper and foodie. True enough, despite being a city, shop and dine was truly a bliss over there. Here's pretty much everything I did, everywhere I went, and you totally should too!

Was there for 5d4n (syok), the photos will be in chronological order.

Day 1

1. Authentic Thai Feast Experience

@Ruan Songnaree

I've always loved Thai food but havent had the feast mode version so far. Thanks to unit trip, got to savor all these heavenly delicious dishes with the company of the people I work hard with everyday. So glad this feast is happening in Thailand itself. Everything was good, like really T T I wanna go backkkk.

Day 2

2. Attend Thai Cooking School and Create your own Authentic Thai Taste

@Sompong Thai Cooking School

Once again, thanks to unit trip! Honestly I wouldnt have thought of cooking school but now that I've tried it, it's really quite an experience to not miss especially when you are a big fan of Thai food. The session includes a trip to the local wet market and the instructors are super passionate about explaining all the ingredients and method. One thing I really like is you walk away with a recipe book and the instructor always provide alternatives for ingredients that may not be easily purchased in other countries. There's also vegetarian options indicated in the recipe as well.

3. Keep your wallet in your hands all the time

@Chatuchak Weekend Market

Yes coz it's tiring to keep putting your wallet in your bag and taking it out to pay.

4. Lit the night

@Ratchada Train Night Market

Coming from a country with pasar malams, this night market in Bangkok was an eye opener. It's not just stalls lining a street in a mess, it's rows of them but more organized. The variety of food is just mindblowing, it was a feast for the eye before we even start eating. Love how there's fairy lights and strings of light bulbs that lit the stalls. Then there's like a pub street with all the open air bars. Instead of just dabao-ing food and buying random items, the Ratchada Night Market was truly a place to hangout. Best part is still how everything I tasted were delicious and they are really cheap. Salt baked fish was the bomb and my all time favorite Pork BBQ skewers at 10 baht each, like are you kidding me, I've been paying 3 times the price T T

5. Hit the dancefloor

@Onyx Mainstage

Glad to be enjoying some good music and drinks with the bunch after a long day. Think the club is pretty mega and it was still quite crowded on a Sunday night. Huge stage, crazy lights with futuristic-humanoid looking dancers, the atmosphere was still quite electrifying though I didn't quite enjoy the song choice. But one thing that puzzled me was, the club closes at 2am. LOL isn't that early? HAHA (Not many photos here, coz my phone cannot do night shift)

Day 3

6. Visiting the place where all wishes have been granted

@Erawan Shrine

Before I go Bangkok, I was kind of aware about how Thais are very devoted believers of the four-faced Buddha. And I guess one of the takeaways of the trip was seeing it and believing their devotion. In Bangkok, almost every corner has a shrine. Like no matter it's just a road side stall or a modern skyscraper or mega shopping mall, you will find one of these shrines. And this, Erawan Shrine, is smacked in the middle of the shopping district of Bangkok. It's an interesting sight to see how everyone brings their wishes and offers bright yellow flowers and incense sticks. I remember seeing a traditional dance performed. Just recently, I was told that the dance wasn't some program presented by the shrine, but instead the dancers were hired by worshipers who realized their wishes as a sign of return offering.

7. Skip the queue for delicious lobster meal

@Burger & Lobster

We were just walking down the shopping district, passing by all the posh shopping malls and there was Burger and Lobster at a corner with No Queue. Think that was the time when Malaysia was getting crazy over Burger and Lobster @ Genting. The moment we saw the same thing with no queue and no need to travel up to Genting for this, like why not just splurge. Plus the price is actually similar to Genting. And true enough, the lobster was delicious. No fancy cooking, just steamed and grilled fresh lobster that was juicy and chewy. Gosh I love shell fish HAHA.

8. Explore the shopping district

@Ratchadamri Road

Honestly I'm very impressed with Bangkok's well built infrastructure in the shopping district. The malls here all look very upscale and I like how there's wide sidewalks so it's not crazily crowded. Also love how all the malls are connected all the way to Platinum mall with covered walkways. I just can't miss the chance to take some shots along the streets. See how hipster they look?

9. Kind of literally unknot the muscles

@Healthland, Asoke

Never have I been so conflicted in my life. The 2 hours massage hurts so bad but damnn it's really good. Well spent 700 dollars (including tips), no regrets. I really thought the therapeutic part of massage was being able to sleep but nope all that pain made everything felt better. Was instantly energized. And I think I like how the massage centre is kind of like a decent hotel where there's receptionist and lounge area. Masseuse were super friendly as well. Just take my money really.

10. Fall in love with Thai Salad - Som Tam

@Som Tam Nua, Siam Square

This was an important discovery for me. Until this very day I cannot forget how delicious this salad with loads of raw veggies and fruits taste. Loving all the salt, sour and spice and crunch from the pig skin. Actually, there was some drama. We found a freaking worm in our salad. You must be thinking I'm crazy to introduce a shop that has worm in its food but gosh I really love Som Tam and I'm willing to forget about that slimy transparent worm that was crawling within.

11. Splurge to find out how lit Bangkok truly is

@Lebua Sky Tower

This was a painful splurge I have to admit, to be honest I dont freaking know why did I chose this rooftop bar out of all. It is damn expensive and it's kind located at a relatively ulu area haha. But I guess the view didn't disappoint. Initially I was internally debating whether I want to leave when I saw the menu, but damn the view in front of me was like, wow. It made me realize that Bangkok is really a big urban city and it's truly lit. I'm not sure if I can find the same view in KL, even if there is, I doubt you get this wide view of the city. Thanks jiejie for accompanying me for this one-time enough experience haha. Not many photos here coz Xiaomi does not do OT at night.

Day 4

12. Hipsters Assemble

@Roost, TheCommons

Be uncommon is TheCommons. A whole building full of cafes, arts and lifestyle stores with a bright open air concept and greens crawling here and there the compound. Bet your inner hipster will be awaken here. Had brunch at Roost which serves the best coffee and brunch to kick start your day and it also has the best brunch vibes with brightly naturally lit environment.

.

13. Hipster All Day

@Thonglor District

One serious problem I had in Bangkok was how I was constantly full. Hence it's always good to get on our feet and explore the area. Thonglor was truly a hipster scene, instagrammable cafes, welcoming bars and boutiques with floor-length windows, Wished I had more time T.T if I had nice DSLR or GoPro, I'm pretty sure we can all take those hipster MTV kind of clips haha.

14. Hipster Always have Second Round of Coffee

@D.Ark

Thonglor area is truly full of instagrammable cafes and I'm sure you just can't resist to step into one of them. Mr. Google led us to this.

Day 5

15. Put on your sarong and admire the majestic ancient temple

@Wat Pho

I'm that type of person who die die must go to one place that the rest of the world doesn't have. This is THE place. I even paid to buy a sarong in order to go in haha. To me, I feel Thais have a very unique historical and cultural identity which can be seen through the architecture of their religious sites. It truly was a majestic site where everything was shiny, mega and it's all complicated too. Too bad I didn't have more time to explore the area around the temple which has the Grand Palace, museums and Wat Arun across the Chao Phraya river.

16. Crabby Ending

@Krua Apsorn

Just a 10 mins tuktuk ride away from Wat Pho, we found ourselves queuing up outside a very homey and simple restaurant. The menu was like one page only but was already mouthwatering when I saw "stir-fry crab in curry powder" on the menu. Every dish was a rice thief, still missing the juicy crab meats in yummy sauce. I have always loved crabs but hey this one removes the fuss of removing the shell, LARVE IT. Really recommend this!

19. Free Time? More Massage la

@Phunnee Massage, Sukhumvit

@Relax Time Massage & Spa, The Esplanade Mall

Loving all the 300 baht 60-min massages here T.T Just unwind whenever you have spare time.

20. Eat all day err day

@Everywhere, every corner

Here's everything else I ate

21. Shop Non Stop

Shopping happens everywhere in Bangkok. From open air markets, to shops on a street to mega malls. Here's some places we've visited other than the ones mentioned above.

22. Stay in Style

@Mercure Bangkok Makkasan

Free 2 nights of stay at Mercure hotel. The hotel itself is very well maintained and pleasant to stay but it's just the location that is quite terrible. It's really quite ulu. But I guess the rates should be cheaper. Love the comfy beds and how I can keep watching YouTube until I fall asleep.

Bangkok is a blessing for the modern day zombies in the SEA region. Cheap and good food anytime anywhere, retail therapy that doesn't burn your wallet to ashes, massage that can awaken old souls and sightseeing that broadens our view. And best thing is how...comfy and convenient the entire journey was. You can grab, take the trains or just walk along the sheltered walkways to travel around. Along the streets you'll find shops, malls, cafes, everything catches my eye and there's no dull moment. Totally can understand why people can go BKK at least twice a year. Really recommend this place for anyone who just want to relax, massage, look see look see, eat here eat there. There's just so many ways to pass time here without excessively depleting your already low energy level. If you're feeling tired from all the work, this is where u can reward yourself.

Last but not least please watch a video I made with all the awesome memories from BKK

en

bottom of page